Invisible Illness · Your Stories!

Aster’s Story #ChronicPainAwarenessMonth

As those who like our facebook page or follow our instagram, will know, is that we asked for people to get in touch and share their stories with us. This is because September is Chronic Pain Awareness Month, and in 2 weeks, starts Invisible Illness Awareness Week!

Here’s one of our stories sent in by a teenager called Aster, written by her about her endeavours!

Hi! my name is Aster and I am a teenager with two rare invisible illnesses.
My story started when I was about twelve. One day my shoulder started hurting and popping more than it should have. Then it was my knee, then my foot, etc. I also had started passing out regularly. My mom made a doctor’s appointment, which lead to another appointment, and another, until I was finally sitting in a geneticist’s office. He diagnosed me very quickly with Elhers-Danlos Syndrome and POTS.

Ehlers-Danlos is a chronic (means it never goes away) connective tissue disorder. My body basically produces faulty collagen (the glue that holds your body together), which is causing my body to fall apart at the seams (slight exaggeration). POTS, or autonomic dysfunction, is a chronic condition that means blood is pooling in my feet when I sit, and then my heart is having to work extra hard to get it back up to my brain. This results in a higher heart rate, which can lead to dizziness and passing out.

I am slowly learning to adjust to my new normal. Both of these illnesses can change or flare every day, making regular life almost impossible. On top of this, they are both completely invisible. It was definitely fun trying to explain this to my friends. I am so grateful, however, of the support that they have given me. Through it all, my friends, my family, and of course the Lord, have been there for me. And that is what makes all of this bearable.

Aster can be found on instagram at @chronicpainproblems

 

Want to be featured just like Aster? Then please get in touch! More information can be found on our facebook page, but heres a little summary!

 

  • Email us at chronicprincess@outlook.com with your story! (preferably a word count of 2000/3000. Minimum 1500 words)
  • Please include your social media (including blog, snapchat etc, whichever you wish people to find) as we can link back to you and help others find you!
  • Try to refain from triggers in your post. It is fine to mention the hard times you have been through, but try to not include too much detail as it may become a trigger for someone.

We will try to email you back as soon as possible, and we will also send you the direct link to your post! All our blog posts are shared on social media, if you’d prefer us not to, then please let us know as people have the right to withdraw at any time. We can also do anonymous stories, but please let us know this before hand!

 

2 thoughts on “Aster’s Story #ChronicPainAwarenessMonth

  1. Glad I found you. I suffer from hypermobility syndrome and my sister suffers from Ulcerative Colitis, both completely different but both invisible. Life is a challenge for everyone but trying to get through it in pain is hard work especially when other people think you are fine because you are putting on a brave face!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

